Eating a vegan diet seems straightforward: avoid eating animals and things that come from animals, like dairy, eggs, and honey. But there are a few, seemingly vegan products out there that contain sneaky animal byproducts you may not have even heard of.
Photo by Health Gauge.
America’s Test Kitchen has an extensive guide in the link below, but here are the three most surprising possibly-not-vegan items that may be hiding in you pantry:
- Sugar: Most conventional white sugar is processed through animal bone char during bleaching. Some companies use granular carbon, but you won’t be able to tell by looking at the packaging. All is not lost, however. According to ATK, organic sugar is never processed with bone char.
- Dried Pasta: A lot of pasta contains eggs, but a quick reading of the label will clue you in. Luckily, some of ATK’s favourite boxes of noodles are vegan, including this fine spaghetti.
- Wine: Like sugar, it’s not the thing itself that isn’t vegan here, but rather how it is processed. Many wine fining agents — such as casein, albumin, gelatin, and isinglass (fish bladder) — are not vegan, and trace amounts of those can end up in the bottle. If you’re not sure if a wine is vegan or not, check the bottle or as a store clerk.
Of course, this is your diet, and you’re allowed to be as strict with it as you like, but it’s nice to know what exactly is going into your food so you can make your own, completely informed decisions.
3 Common Ingredients You Think Are Vegan That Might Not Be [America’s Test Kitchen ]