Photos and videos tend to take up the bulk of our devices' storage space. If you find you're running out of space on your phone, Google Photos has a new feature that will let you bulk delete photos and videos that have already been stored online.
Google says that this new "Free up space" option in the Google Photos app settings will remove the device copies of backed up photos and videos, but technically they're not "backed up" if you delete them from your phone and then they only live in one place (Google's servers). Still, running out of space on your phone and not being able to take even one more photo sucks. So this is a good option if you have another copy of your photos and videos elsewhere.
Google Photos will also notify you when your phone is running low on space and give you the option to remove copies of photos on your phone that are backed up and older than 30 days.
The update is rolling out on Android and coming soon to iOS.
In addition to these new features, Google Photos on the web will now let you downgrade photos you've previously uploaded from "original" (full resolution) to "high" quality to save space. High quality photos don't count against your Google storage allotment.