Deployment

Bug Warning: Updating Adobe Creative Cloud Could Delete Your Files

Adobe Creative Cloud software suite users should refrain from installing updates for it as Adobe is still working on a fix for a bug that could delete files without authorisation. Here are the details.

Creative Cloud is a software-as-a-service (SaaS) offering that gives users access to Adobe’s collection of graphic design, video editing and photography software. Last week, it was reported that its users were experiencing a bug which deleted root drive files after installing Creative Cloud software updates. Currently, this issue is only affecting Mac OS users.

An Adobe spokeswoman told Ars Technica:

“We are aware that some customers have experienced this issue and we are investigating in order to resolve the matter as quickly as possible. We are stopping the distribution of the update until the issue has been resolved.”

The version that appears to be causing the deletions is 3.5.0.206 and while Creative Cloud users are advised to not install this latest update until further notice from Adobe. You can read more about this over at Ars Technica].

[Via Ars Technica]


Have you subscribed to Lifehacker Australia's email newsletter? You can also follow us on LinkedIn, Facebook, Twitter and YouTube.

Trending Stories Right Now