Chrome: Sometimes you just never want to see a certain site in your Google results. Maybe you want to block a sketchy news source, or you don’t want Pinterest in your image search results, or there’s a really gross forum that keeps appearing in searches. Thankfully, you can block a site from future searches with the uBlacklist Chrome extension.
Once the extension is installed, uBlacklist adds a “block this site” link to every Google result. To remove a site from search results, click the link and hit OK.
The extension is robust and feature-rich. When it blocks certain results, it includes a small notice at the top of the page, next to Google’s results count. Click “Show” to temporarily reveal the blocked results. This will also reveal a link to unblock the site. Image results appear instead as blanks, and can also be revealed with one click.
In uBlacklist’s extension options, you can sync your blacklist across devices using Google Drive, and manually enter URLs to block. Using wildcards, you can block a whole site or just certain subdomains or pages. The extension links to syntax guides for these block rules.
Unfortunately, there are a few holes in the net. For example, if you block foxnews.com, uBlacklist will block Fox News as a source on news searches from the main Google page, but not on searches made at news.google.com. And blocking a site doesn’t also block that site’s social media pages from results (unless you add those to your blacklist too). But these are small flaws that shouldn’t ruin most uses of the extension.
Google used to have its own extension for blocking sites, but that shut down some time before 2018. That means you have to trust developer iorate to responsibly handle access to your Google history, or examine the extension’s source code on GitHub.