Grab the Glitter, It’s Eurovision Finals Time

Grab the Glitter, It’s Eurovision Finals Time
Credit: SHELDON RILEY Instagram

Get excited, Australia because Eurovision 2022 is here. The eccentric European song contest, which holds a dear place in the hearts of Australians, kicked off on May 10, 2022 (May 11 here in Australia) with the final taking place on May 15. To help you prepare for the colourful music event, we’ve pulled together a list of key details for you. Here’s everything you need to know about Eurovision Song Contest 2022 and how to watch it from Australia.

Here we go!

Eurovision 2022: Event location and dates

Eurovision Song Contest 2021 australia dates when is it
When is Eurovision 2022 and how to watch in Australia. (Photo by Soeren Stache/picture alliance via Getty Images)

If you’re wondering when and where you can catch Eurovision in 2022, the event is running from May 11 to May 15, 2022 (these are the dates for us in Australia).

Seeing as Italy was the winning country in 2021, it will play host to Eurovision 2022. The event will be held at PalaOlimpico in Turin, Italy which was built for the 2006 Torino Winter Olympics.

Last year, due to COVID-19, some of the competitors had to perform remotely from their home countries. It’s unclear if that will be the case again this year but we’ll keep you posted.

Who is Australia’s Eurovision Song Contest entrant?

Australia has been competing in Eurovision since 2015. Last year we had Montaigne performing her song ‘Technicolour’.

In 2022 we’ll have 21-year-old prodigy Sheldon Riley who has been featured on The Voice Australia, X-Factor Australia and America’s Got Talent.

Riley will be singing the song ‘Not The Same’. Check it out in the video below.

Australia competed in Semi-Final 2 on May 13.

Who else is competing this year?

There are 40 countries slated to compete in the contest for 2022. You can check out the list of competitors on the Eurovision website.

Eurovision finalists 2022

Things are moving along quickly and we’ve already landed on 20 finalists for the 2022 Eurovision competition. In the Grand Final, we will be seeing the following performers take to the stage.

  1. Czech Republic: We Are Domi – ‘Lights Off’
  2. Romania: WRS – ‘Llámame’
  3. Portugal: MARO – ‘Saudade, Saudade’
  4. Finland: The Rasmus – ‘Jezebel’
  5. Switzerland: Marius Bear – ‘Boys Do Cry’
  6. France: Alvan & Ahez – ‘Fulenn’
  7. Norway: Subwoolfer – ‘Give That Wolf A Banana’
  8. Armenia: Rosa Linn – ‘Snap’
  9. Italy: Mahmood & Blanco – ‘Brividi’
  10. Spain: Chanel – ‘SloMo’
  11. Netherlands: S10 – ‘De Diepte’
  12. Ukraine: Kalush Orchestra – ‘Stefania’
  13. Germany: Malik Harris – ‘Rockstars’
  14. Lithuania: Monika Liu – ‘Sentimentai’
  15. Azerbaijan: Nadir Rustamli – ‘Fade To Black’
  16. Belgium: Jérémie Makiese – ‘Miss You’
  17. Greece: Amanda Georgiadi Tenfjord – ‘Die Together’
  18. Iceland: Systur – ‘Með Hækkandi Sól’
  19. Moldova: Zdob şi Zdub & Advahov Brothers – ‘Trenulețul’
  20. Sweden: Cornelia Jakobs – ‘Hold Me Closer’
  21. Australia: Sheldon Riley – ‘Not The Same’
  22. United Kingdom: Sam Ryder – ‘SPACE MAN’
  23. Poland: Ochman – ‘River’
  24. Serbia: Konstrakta – ‘In Corpore Sano’
  25. Estonia: Stefan – Hope’

Yes, that’s right. Australia is through to the next stage of the Eurovision competition. It is broadly believed, however, that Ukraine is the front-runner for the competition this year.

Don’t forget to vote for your favourites.

How do I watch Eurovision 2022 in Australia?

As per usual SBS is broadcasting Eurovision in Australia for 2022. The network will be covering the events up until May 15.

Comedian Joel Creasey and Myf Warhurst will be some of the Australian hosts for SBS’ coverage of Eurovision.

SBS has released its full coverage schedule for 2022 Eurovision in Australia, which you can find below.

Primetime evening broadcasts:

Semi-Final 1 – Friday, May 13, 8.30 pm

Semi-Final 2 – Saturday, May 14, 8.30 pm

Grand Final – Sunday, May 15, 7.30 pm

LIVE early morning broadcasts:

Semi-Final 1 – Wednesday, May 11, 5:00 am

Semi-Final 2 – Friday, May 13, 5:00 am

Grand Final – Sunday, May 15, 5:00 am

The Semi-Finals and Grand Final will also be aired on SBS Viceland on Saturday, May 14, Sunday, May 15 at 11.30 am, and Monday, May 15 from noon.

If you want more colourful vibes, you can watch Will Ferrell and Rachel McAdams in Eurovision Song Contest: The Story of Fire Saga on Netflix to get a taste of that classic Eurovision energy.

This article has been updated since its original publish date. 


  • I hate to be contrary but there’s a couple of errors in the conclusion of article which you may think worth correcting.

    1) Think About Things was indeed a favourite to win had the contest gone ahead last year. There was no contest though, so no winner. It did win a bunch of fan polls though.

    3) Duncan Laurence won IN Tel Aviv; he is not FROM Tel Aviv. He’s from The Netherlands, hence the competition this year being held in The Netherlands.

Show more comments

Log in to comment on this story!