What Order to Watch the Marvel Netflix Series In, Now That They’re on Disney+

What Order to Watch the Marvel Netflix Series In, Now That They’re on Disney+
Image: Netflix/Marvel

Long before the Disney+ era of WandaVision, Falcon and the Winter Soldier and the likes there was Netflix’s Marvel series. The streaming company had snapped up the rights to some lesser-known heroes – Daredevil, Jessica Jones, Iron Fist, Luke Cage and the Punisher – and it had plans to turn them into a little Netflix Marvel universe.

Things mainly went to plan with 13 seasons released across six different series, but eventually, one by one, Netflix’s Marvel shows were cancelled. Now Disney, the home of all things Marvel, is reclaiming each of these series.

Netflix announced that all seasons of Daredevil, Luke Cage, Jessica Jones, The Punisher, Iron Fist and The Defenders would leave the platform on February 28. On March 16 they moved over to Disney+ and can now all be found over there as part of The Defenders saga.

If it’s your first time watching the Marvel/Netflix/Disney+ shows – or you’re ready for a rewatch – we’re here to help you the chronological order you should watch all the seasons in.

Marvel Netflix Disney+ TV shows watch order

Netflix and Marvel's The Defenders
Marvel Netflix shows to watch in order. Image: Netflix

There are six different series in Netflix’s Marvel universe. Here’s a quick rundown of each:

  • Daredevil (3 seasons): Blinded as a young boy, Matt Murdock fights injustice by day as a lawyer and by night as the Super Hero Daredevil in Hell’s Kitchen, New York City.
  • Jessica Jones (3 seasons): Haunted by a traumatic past, Jessica Jones uses her gifts as a private eye to find her tormentor before he can harm anyone else in Hell’s Kitchen.
  • Luke Cage (2 seasons): A hoodie-wearing, unbreakable ex-con fights to clear his name and save his neighbourhood. He wasn’t looking for a fight, but the people need a hero.
  • Iron Fist (2 seasons): Danny Rand resurfaces 15 years after being presumed dead. Now, with the power of the Iron Fist, he seeks to reclaim his past and fulfil his destiny.
  • The Punisher (2 seasons): A former Marine out to punish the criminals responsible for his family’s murder finds himself ensnared in a military conspiracy.
  • The Defenders (1 season): Daredevil, Jessica Jones, Luke Cage and Iron Fist join forces to take on common enemies as a sinister conspiracy threatens New York City.

Each season of these Marvel shows was released sporadically over four years, but many intertwined with each other. Luke Cage appeared in Jessica Jones, the Punisher was introduced in Daredevil, and then everything came together in The Defenders – so watching in chronological order is important.

Here’s the chronological watch order for Netflix’s Marvel shows:

  • Daredevil – Season 1
  • Jessica Jones – Season 1
  • Daredevil – Season 2
  • Luke Cage – Season 1
  • Iron Fist – Season 1
  • The Defenders
  • The Punisher – Season 1
  • Jessica Jones – Season 2
  • Luke Cage – Season 2
  • Iron Fist – Season 2
  • Daredevil – Season 3
  • The Punisher – Season 2
  • Jessica Jones – Season 3

You can find all these seasons over on Disney+ now.

This article has been updated with additional information.

Log in to comment on this story!