State of Origin 2021: When and Where to Watch the Series

State of Origin 2021: When and Where to Watch the Series
(Photo by Bradley Kanaris/Getty Images)

If you’re keen to tune into the action of the 2021 State of Origin, here’s everything you need to know.

When does the 2021 State of Origin kick-off?

Game one was played out at Queensland Country Bank Stadium, Townsville (changed from the MCG as a result of COVID-19 regulations) on Wednesday, June 9 at 8:10 pm AEST.

The NSW Blues took out the first win of the State of Origin series, 50-6 against Queensland Maroons

The remainder of the matches will be:

  • Game II: Sunday, June 27, 7:50 pm AEST at Suncorp Stadium, QLD
  • Game III: Wednesday, July 14, 8:10 pm AEST at Stadium Australia, NSW

Where can I watch the games on the telly?

As per the NRL website, the series of games will be broadcast across Australia on the Nine Network and 9Now.

Our Kiwi pals can tune in via Sky Sport.

Can I physically attend?

As is the way of things in the middle of a pandemic, it’s worth keeping in mind that rules and accessibility to public events can change rather quickly. Current border restrictions will impact attendance. However, tickets are currently available for purchase.

If you’re keen on getting your name on the waitlist, you can do so here

What else is worth knowing?

Well, the pregame entertainment has been confirmed for the series – if you’re interested in that. We’ve been promised performances from Aussie darlings The Veronicas, as well as Sheppard and Lime Cordiale. They’ve been split across the three events.

In terms of wins, the Maroons took home the shield in 2020, with the two titles before that (2019 and 2018) going to the Blues. The Maroons won the three series prior, and every shield from 2006 through to 2013 – brutal. Before that, the split was fairly even.

Overall, QLD is in the lead with 22 wins compared to NSW’s 15. There have been two draws.

How about the Women’s State of Origin?

You can also nab tickets to the Women’s State of Origin game here.

The event, which is going to be led by two women coaches – Tahnee Norris (Queensland Maroons) and Kylie Hilder (NSW Blues) – is set for Friday, June 25 at 7:45 pm AEST.

For more on where you can tune into the NRL season in Australia, read on here.

This article has been updated since its original publish date.

Log in to comment on this story!