How To 'Unsend' Messages In Facebook Messenger

Image: Getty Images

A little while ago, it was revealed that Mark Zuckerberg and other high-level Facebook execs had access to a special feature that allowed them to erase messages they had sent to user inboxes. So, if The Zuck sent you a message, you might find it gone days or weeks later. Last year, Facebook said a similar feature would be made available to everyone. That new feature as now arrived in Facebook Messenger for iOS and Android. Here's how it works and how to use it.

Facebook Messenger for iOS and Android will now let you delete a message you've sent to someone else. It not only disappears from your messages but also from the recipient. So, if you've sent a message or photo in error, you can now reduce the risk of it landing in the wrong hands.

The feature gives you a ten minute window to delete the message.

The new feature is easy to use.

  • Open the message thread with the message you want to kill.
  • Tap the message you want to delete and select “Remove for Everyone” within ten minutes of sending a message
  • Sit back a relax as that dodgy selfie or brain fart is erased from existence.

The new change will apply to everyone - even Facebook employees. And while encrypted messaging isn't enabled by default, you can also use Messenger Secret Messages if you want to keep conversations private.


Comments

Be the first to comment on this story!

Trending Stories Right Now