Take a bad photo on your iPhone? No problem, just bin it! Except, it hasn't actually been deleted, just moved, and anyone who knows where to look can find it easily. So, how do you make sure the photos you trash are gone forever?
Pretty much everyone's familiar with the concept of a digital recycle bin or trash, but it was only around iOS 8 that Apple introduced a similar thing for photos. Essentially, whenever you delete an image, it gets moved to a special album, called "Recently Deleted".
If you've never bothered with albums, then it's likely you've never seen or heard of this before.
Now, in some cases, it can be a lifesaver. But if, for whatever reason, you want to immediately delete a photo, then you're going to have to do it twice — once normally, and again in the Recently Deleted album.
It happens. You're absentmindedly browsing through your photos while enjoying a lovely view or a warm drink. You tap around — and then realise you've accidentally deleted a ton of photos on your device. You panic. Have you just lost your precious memories forever?
Fortunately, the album offers a "delete all" function, so you don't have to do them individually. Otherwise, images remain in the album for 30 days, after which they're gone for good. Of course, if you have iCloud enabled, you'll have to double-check there too.