Why Did ICloud Delete All Of My Photos?

We're turning the lens around for this week's Ask Lifehacker. Our Managing Editor Virginia Smith posed a question in our internal Slack channel that cuts wide and deep: "It's safe to delete photos from my iPhone, right?"

The answer is a bit more complicated than you might think — and can have disastrous consequences if you get it wrong.

It's incredibly safe to delete photos from your iPhone. If your iPhone's space is filling up, if you don't like the composition of a shot, or if you've offloaded your photos to another service or storage device, delete away. Your smartphone won't mind.

Of course, by "safe," you're actually asking the Prestige-like question, "Am I deleting a copy or deleting an original." And like the movie, the answer gets a little complicated. If you've set up iCloud on your iPhone and you're automatically uploading photos to Apple's service, as shown below:

Screenshot: David Murphy

then it's critical to realise that your "synchronisation" isn't a one-way street. Delete a photo on your iPhone and you'll remove it from iCloud the next time your device has an internet connection. Apple warns you about this when you delete a photo or video in the Photos app, noting that deleting the object will remove it from iCloud Photos on "all your devices." It's implied that this removes it from iCloud as well, but Apple could stand to be more explicit, given the apparent confusion. (Virginia isn't the only one who has been tripped up by this wording.)

Delete the photo on an iPhone or iPad that syncs to iCloud, and you'll be removing the photo from iCloud as well.Screenshot: David Murphy

The same logic applies if you're synchronizing iCloud Photos on your Mac. Delete a photo there, and the item will disappear from connected iPhones, iPads, and iCloud itself the next time that Mac hops online.

Of course, if you delete a photo from your iPhone and didn't mean to remove it from everything, it's easy to reverse the process. Just look for the "Recently Deleted" Album under "Other Albums" on the iOS Photos app, on the left sidebar under "Library" on the macOS Photos app, or within the Albums listing at iCloud.com. Don't dawdle; you only have up to 40 days before your photos and videos disappear forever.

If your many Apple devices are all set to synchronise iCloud Photos, you can restore deleted photos from any of these devices. You don't need to have the actual iPhone you used to originally delete a photo, for example.

What makes Apple's iCloud treatment confusing isn't anything Apple has done. Rather, it's the fact that many cloud services - like Google Photos, for example - treat photo synchronisation differently. That's to be expected, but I think a number of people assume that each service does the same thing. They don't.

For example, when you back up photos to the cloud using Google Photos on an iPhone, you can go ahead and delete these photos - using the iOS Photos app - without issue. Your photos will still live in Google's cloud unless you delete them in the Google Photos app or photos.google.com.

This is the main reason why Google's "Free Up Space" Feature is so handy. Once you've uploaded your photos to Google's service, you can safely delete them off your device without losing them forever, as long as you use the specific feature in Google's Photos app, shown below:

Screenshot: David Murphy

Now, if you were to delete these photos directly from the Google Photos app's stream, you'd be deleting them from the cloud as well. This "Free Up Space" option deletes your device's photos — and only your device's photos - when you press that button. Delete photos the regular way, and you're removing them from Google's cloud and app, but not your device. Got it?

If you want Google Photos to also remove an item on your iOS device (which removes it from the iOS Photos app and iCloud), you'll have to pick the option once you've deleted a photo or video in the Google Photos app:

And since I'm just focusing on iOS to answer Virginia's question, I should note that this process is more streamlined if you're using an Android device that features Google Photos as the primary photo-storage app - like Google's Pixel 2. Delete a photo there, and it's gone on the device and gone in your cloud storage - unless you restore it via the Trash in either the app or the online site. (And you can still use the "Free Up Space" feature on Android; Google won't delete those same photos and videos from the cloud, don't worry.)

In summary:

  • Deleting items in the Photos app removes them from iCloud, if you're signed in and synchronizing, as well as any other device that's set up similarly.
  • Deleting items the Photos app won't remove them from Google Photos if you've already uploaded them to Google's cloud storage.
  • Deleting items in the Google Photos app will delete them from Google's cloud storage and any other device that also uses Google Photos - but only in the Google Photos app.
  • Deleting items in the Google Photos app won't delete them off your iOS device unless you explicitly tell Google Photos to do that when you're deleting the item.
  • Maybe... consider making a regular backup of your device's photos on an external hard drive (or uploaded to another cloud service) in case this is all just too confusing.

Comments

    Google is saving a nice but reduced copy of your photos, so if you delete the original then it's gone.

      If you chose that option, yes.

        It's the default. The app description says "FREE UNLIMITED STORAGE Back up unlimited photos and videos for free in High Quality. Access them from any device and photos.google.com - your photos are safe, secure, and private to you."

        If you want original quality then you need to choose that and pay for the storage costs.

          You still choose it by accepting that option. If you care about your photos, read what you are clicking. You also get something like 15gb free which is a fair whack.
          I have unlimited free space because I got a Pixel through work :D

            That is well and good in an ideal world where people read and understand these conditions. But it needs to be pointed out in an article of this nature.

            15gb goes nowhere fast when even phone cameras are generating HD video

              Oooh yes, video. I don't take a lot of that but I can see it going pretty quick for some people.

    If you're using the "Optimise Phone Storage" setting for iCloud Photo Library, it also frees up a lot of space on your device.
    This is due to the fact that all your iPhone will keep is a thumbnail of the image, and then download the actual image when you open it.

    And as a bonus if you install the iCloud app for Windows and download all you photos when you delete them from iCloud or your phone it DOES NOT delete them from the PC - which is quite handy

    Since I have a 50GB iCloud account (a whole $1.50 a month), I utilise the 'Files' app on iOS and store photos I don't want in my Photos app or in my iCloud photos there, they also conveniently pop up on my MacBook.

Join the discussion!

Trending Stories Right Now