How To Hide Your Accidental Instagram ‘Like’ 

How To Hide Your Accidental Instagram ‘Like’ 
To sign up for our daily newsletter covering the latest news, hacks and reviews, head HERE. For a running feed of all our stories, follow us on Twitter HERE. Or you can bookmark the Lifehacker Australia homepage to visit whenever you need a fix.

It’s late at night and you’re stalking an old friend’s Instagram. It’s all going well, until you accidentally “like” a photo from 42 weeks ago. I’ve been there; many of us have been there. The next time this happens to you, here’s a tip, recently shared by a Twitter user, in case of extreme, mortifying emergency.

Change Your Name and Profile Photo

If you’ve accidentally liked someone’s photo on Instagram and their push notifications are enabled, the person who posted the picture will see it. Even if you remove the like right away, it will show. According to Instagram, however, the like alert will disappear shortly after you remove it. So your new profile won’t have to stay that way forever. In the meantime, here’s what you should do:

  1. Switch your account to private — if you’re public.
  2. Go to your Instagram page and click on the profile icon at the bottom-right corner.
  3. Click on “Edit Profile” at the top of your page.
  4. Change your name, bio and profile photo.

It might sound extreme and a lot of work for one embarrassing like, but if you’re in a position in which you really can’t afford to like even one photo, then you know it’s worth it.