Vegans Can Now Drink Guinness, But Only From A Keg

Vegans Can Now Drink Guinness, But Only From A Keg
To sign up for our daily newsletter covering the latest news, hacks and reviews, head HERE. For a running feed of all our stories, follow us on Twitter HERE. Or you can bookmark the Lifehacker Australia homepage to visit whenever you need a fix.

The drinking vegan must live a life of constant vigilance. Though beer and wine themselves rarely contain any animal products or byproducts, they’re often filtered using isinglass (fish bladders) to remove yeast and other solids. Fortunately, Guinness is moving away from this practice, and vegans can now enjoy a pint of the stout in the comfort of their favourite pub.

Photo by Fermin G.

Three Seemingly Vegan Foods That May Not Be

Eating a vegan diet seems straightforward. avoid eating animals and things that come from animals, like dairy, eggs, and honey. But there are a few, seemingly vegan products out there that contain sneaky animal byproducts you may not have even heard of.

Read more

Don’t hit the bottle shop just yet, though. According to Quartz, the only Guinness products that are currently vegan-friendly are kegs of Guinness Draught (what we think of as “regular” Guinness), Guinness that’s brewed in Australia, and the Blonde American Lager, though there are plans to veganise cans and bottles by the end of the year. (Related: If you want to check and see if your favourite beer, wine or spirit is vegan, Barnivore is a great resource for doing so.)

Soon to be made without any fish guts, Guinness is going vegan [Quartz]