The Samsung Galaxy Note7 Just Received Another Battery-Borking Update

Image: Supplied

Samsung has released a software update for the volatile Galaxy Note7 smartphone that caps the maximum charge level to 60 per cent. This does not mean your Galaxy Note7 is now safe to use — Samsung is still imploring users to return the device for a replacement or refund. But in the meantime, the chances of your Note7 bursting into flames should be a bit lower.

Back in September, Samsung released a similar software update for the first batch of Note7s. The latest update is being pushed out to the replacement Note7 devices Samsung sent out — which also proved to be unstable.

The software update will automatically download and install. After the update, the battery level of all Note7s will be limited to 60 per cent, a level that is deemed safe for short term use.

Now, this bit is important: customers are still being urged to return their Note7 devices for a full refund or a replacement Galaxy S7 Edge. The software update does not mean your Note7 is now safe to use indefinitely. The update has no affect on the device's banned status on national and international airlines, so don't try to take it with you while travelling overseas.

"It is a measure to put consumer safety first, but we apologise for causing inconvenience," Samsung said in a statement. "We continue to work with our retail and operator partners to assist customers to replace their Galaxy Note7 devices or seek a full refund."

If you're still using the Samsung Galaxy Note7, be sure to return it at your soonest convenience.


You may have noticed Lifehacker Australia looks different. We're keen to hear your thoughts on the redesign. Share your feedback here!


Comments

    Wouldn't that be illegal? Disabling features after sold, false advertising, forcing owners to lose battery life. While I'm not saying I'm keeping my note7 forever, (I don't have one), this is still a voluntary recall.

      im no legal expert, but i get the feeling there's probably an exception made when the disabling of features is done for safety reasons

Join the discussion!

Trending Stories Right Now