It seems downright unbelievable, but a lot of booze isn't vegan or even vegetarian, and many brands use animal products (such as fish bladders for filtration and beetles for colouring) during processing. If this causes you distress, take a breath and chill. There are a couple of ways to find a tasty beverage that fits your lifestyle. Photo by Ken Hawkins.
Food 52 has compiled a list of fifteen vegetarian/vegan-friendly brands, and it's good place to start, but if you don't find your brand on there, head on over to Barnivore, a comprehensive vegan directory with over twenty thousand brands. Personally, I was happy to find Basil Hayden's in there; I would hate for my vegetarian friends to miss out on the joy that is that glorious bourbon.