Optus Introduces Data Rollover On Pre-Paid Plans

Here's some good news for phone users who hate "wasting" unused data. As part of a pricing revamp for its pre-paid mobile plans, Optus is allowing customers to hang onto their unused data up to a maximum of 10GB. The revised plan also now includes unlimited calls and texts.

Optus updated its $30 pre-paid offer today to give customers unlimited call minutes, unlimited SMS and MMS and 1.5GB of included data. Part of the new $30 offer is data rollover: if you recharge your plan before the expiry date, any data you have left rolls over into the next month.

Optus has limits on the rollover offer, however. You're only allowed to stash a maximum of 10GB at any one time and you're only allowed to rollover the data included in your base recharge. Say for example, you run out of data halfway through the month and you purchase a data bolt-on, the extra data will be ineligible for rollover.

The carrier is also being very strict on recharge times. The data will rollover to the next month provided you recharge your plan before the expiry date. If you let your service lapse without recharging, even just for a day, all your data will be forfeited.

Here are the revised plans in full:


Comments

Be the first to comment on this story!