How To Delete Your Google+ Account

How to Delete Your Google+ Account

If you want to keep using Gmail and rest of Google's tools, but want to ditch Google+, AddictiveTips shows the simple steps for removing the social network functions from your Google account.

The process is quick and simple:

  1. Sign in to your Gmail account and click your profile icon at the top right of the window.
  2. Click "Account" and go to the "Data Tools" tab.
  3. Look for "Account management", and click the link next to it that reads "Delete Google+ profile and features."
  4. You should see a delete confirmation page. It will ask you if it's OK to delete what's called your "Google Profile". Go over the details of what will happen when you delete your Google Profile and make sure you know what you're removing. When you're ready, check the box next to "Required: Yes, I understand that deleting the Google profile for 'Your Name'," and click "Remove selected services."

That's all it takes. Keep in mind that removing your Google+ profile from your Google account can affect your YouTube comments and interactions. YouTube uses your Google+ information, so be prepared. If you don't want to delete your whole profile, we can help you keep Google+ from completely taking over all of your Google Apps.

How to Remove Google+ From Your Google Account [AddictiveTips]

WATCH MORE: Tech News & Life Hacks

Comments

    Removing your G+ profile also disables most of hangouts. You can keep using google talk, but all the mobile hangouts apps will force you to re-create your profile before you sign in.

    This appears to be an administrative rather than a technical limitation. if you sign in to the ios app, then delete your G+ profile it'll keep working perfectly for a week or so before it notices the change and logs you out.

Join the discussion!

Trending Stories Right Now