Stop Quicktime And Preview From Auto-Restoring What You Left Open

Mac: Auto-restore works great when you want to pick up where you left off, but how many times do you leave open a photo or video you actually want to see again when you re-open Preview or Quicktime? A couple of terminal commands can disable this annoying -- and potentially embarrassing -- feature.

Enter this into Terminal to fix Preview:

defaults write com.apple.Preview NSQuitAlwaysKeepsWindows -bool fals

And this one for Quicktime:

defaults write com.apple.QuickTimePlayerX NSQuitAlwaysKeepsWindows -bool false

That's it! Just change false to true at the end of both statements to bring back auto-restore.

10 Terminal Commands That Every Mac User Should Know [Mactuts+]


Comments

Be the first to comment on this story!