How To Delete Your Facebook Account

Deleting your Facebook account might appear to be simple, but thanks to several safeguards you have to do quite a bit more than hit the delete button and say goodbye. If you want out, here's a guide to braving the arduous road ahead.

Note: This post isn't anti-Facebook. We're not trying to convince you one way or the other. If you want to delete your account—perhaps because you want out or maybe you just want to start fresh—we'll show you what you need to do to make it happen.

The deletion process is actually very easy, but it needs to be very thorough and it'll take 14 days to be official. If you're ready to say goodbye to your Facebook account, just follow these steps:

  1. Think of any and all sites that you log into using Facebook Connect. That means any site that is not Facebook itself but lets you log in using the same username and password as you do for Facebook. Once you know every one of the sites on this list, go to each of them and close your accounts. If you log in to any of those sites during the cancellation period (which lasts two weeks) your account will be instantly reinstated and you'll have to start over again. You can always recreate the accounts later.
  2. Visit the Facebook Account Deletion Page. If you're asked to log in, go ahead and do so. When you see the page called "Delete My Account" with two buttons, click the one labelled "Submit".
  3. Next you will be asked "You are about to permanently delete your account. Are you sure?" If you are, enter your password and the text pictured in the image on the page. When ready, click "Okay".
  4. After you confirm, do nothing—really, do nothing. It will take 14 days for the account deletion to actually take, so if you log back into your account anytime in the next two weeks. Once the two weeks have passed without any login in any way, shape, or form, your account will be gone for good.

Also be sure to check your email after you've initiated the account deletion process. You should receive an email letting you know it has begun. Check your junk folder if you don't see it in your inbox. If you do not receive this email, it's possible the process has not begun and you'll need to try again.

If you're deleting for the purposes of creating a new account, you can still create one while waiting for the original account to disappear. In fact, this may be a good thing to do as you'll be logged into the new account and therefore have a difficult time logging into the old one.


Comments

    I wonder what Mark Zuckerberg does with all your photos once you've deleted your account?

    Re Point 1 and FB connect. What happens if you use one of those apps AFTER the account has been deleted and the 14 days are up?

    Is your account reopened again? Would be a pita to forget an app and then have it try to access your closed account and cause it to reopen.

    Under the LH comment box, it says "Our Facebook commenting feature has been temporarily disabled."

    Well played.

    If you want to delete your account because you want to start fresh, and ensure your information is deleted, here's a guide that I made.

    http://www.jackcola.org/blog/123-how-to-delete-and-start-your-facebook-from-scratch

    I wanted to delete all my posts, comments, messages, and doing it one by one is hard, so follow this, to delete Facebook, and start from scratch again.

    Or, if you want to deactivate your account (temporarily remove everything, but can restore it later), check out http://www.jackcola.org/blog/104-how-to-delete-and-deactivate-your-facebook-account

    Want to leave because of personal problems

    A very simple way is to use http://fbless.com, it'll takes you less than 2 minutes of your time !

    Thanks, my facebook account is gone now. No more sepia photos of food!

Join the discussion!

Trending Stories Right Now