Flickr Now Lets You Change Your Mind If You Delete Your Account

Flickr Now Lets You Change Your Mind If You Delete Your Account
To sign up for our daily newsletter covering the latest news, hacks and reviews, head HERE. For a running feed of all our stories, follow us on Twitter HERE. Or you can bookmark the Lifehacker Australia homepage to visit whenever you need a fix.

Popular photo-sharing site Flickr has instituted a new procedure for account deletions, adding a 90-day grace period to the action. Now, whether an account is deleted at the user’s request or by Flickr as a punitive measure, no data is actually lost in case the decision is reversed later. As for the fate of that data, Flickr’s Zack Sheppard sums it up:

The data is no longer available publicly but it is kept on our servers, just in case you want to restore it. After that ‘buffer’ period, we erase it from our servers, ensuring your privacy.

[Flickr Blog via CNET]

Log in to comment on this story!