Dropbox's terms of service give the government access to your Dropbox files if they request them through proper channels, and that's not exactly popular with most folks. Trouble is, when you delete files from your Dropbox, it keeps them on its servers. Here's how to get rid of them permanently.
Dropbox's version control system is usually a welcome feature, but if you're trying to keep your files safe and secure, it throws up a little roadblock. We've already shown you how to add a second layer of encryption to your Dropbox, but any files you had sitting around before the encryption are still on Dropbox's servers, in the form of old versions.
To delete those files, make sure the originals are deleted first—you can re-add them later—then head into Dropbox's web interface. Click the "Show Deleted Files" button at the top of the right-hand pane, select the files you want to delete, and hit More > Permanently Delete. After that, they'll be gone for good and you can re-upload the encrypted versions.
How to Permanently Delete Files from Dropbox [Digital Inspiration]