Facebook’s privacy settings are notoriously complex, and the results of changes are hard to see instantly. ReclaimPrivacy.org has a handy bookmarklet that shows which potentially insecure and privacy-invading settings are enabled on your Facebook account when you click it.
ReclaimPrivacy’s bookmarklet focuses on just a few key areas where Facebook can share information with the public — having your contacts, connections and tagged photos exposed to the public, as well as allowing your friends to accidentally expose that information themselves. It also looks at your relationship with Facebook’s personalisation, applications and other aspects to see what Facebook and independent developers can find out about you, then rates your exposure level in simple Good, Caution or Insecure levels, along with offering links to change those settings.
We’ve previously shown you how to see what Facebook publicly publishes about you, as well as fine-tune your settings manually to “quit/” Facebook without actually quitting. For a quicker, explanatory glance at what’s going on with your account, though, this bookmarklet is a great tool.