Facebook Rolls Out New, Simplified And Improved Privacy Features

There's been a lot of talk recently about Facebook and privacy (with good reason), but the settings weren't always user-friendly. Today, Facebook began rolling out their new simplified, yet feature-rich security settings to keep its users on top of their privacy.

It doesn't appear to be out for all accounts yet (my account has yet to change), but if your account has been switched, you should be prompted to set your security settings as soon as you log in. In fact, it will keep bugging you until you do set them—forcing users to take an active role in their privacy (which, for the many users who haven't even looked at their privacy settings since 2005, is probably a good thing).

The settings in the wizard have been narrowed down a lot to avoid confusion, and really only give you two choices—Facebook's recommended setting for that feature, or your old settings. However, once you go through the wizard, you will have a new feature on your profile that allows you to set who can see each individual status update, wall post, or any other individual post you make: everyone, friends of friends, only friends, or something more specific (blocking certain people, for example). Regional networks have been done away with in favour of this simpler "friends of friends" approach that, given Facebook's growth, makes quite a bit more sense. What do you all think of the new privacy features? Sound off in the comments.

New Tools to Control Your Experience [Facebook Blog via CNET]

WATCH MORE: Tech News & Life Hacks

Comments

    Hi!
    How do I then change the privacy of each post/link that I have previously posted? Thanks!

    This new Privacy options really suck. The Privacy page used to give you heaps of control of who gets to see what, or who you can block things like your status update from.
    Now, everything is bunched together, so if you want to block only your status update from a person, you also have to block your wall to them (meaning what other people post on your wall, the person you blocked the status update for, wont be able to see it what people post on your wall) as before they could.

    When Facebook asked me to change to the new privacy settings, they wanted me to set my PERSONAL INFORMATION to EVERYBODY! I thought they want to increase privacy not reduce it.

    Now my public page looks crap when people I dont have as a friend visits. All they see is the Pages I have joined - and there is not setting to show that only to friends!

    The only good thing is that you can show your status update to certain people only.

    Rosina, near the share button, theres a padlock, click on it and select your options.

    Every change Facebook as made, it had sucked.

    Your privacy settings have decreased, and you made my profile more open than over. Go back to the old way. I was supporting these new privacy changes, but they way you set it up... come on. 350 million users, you should have done a better job.

    Hello Jack!
    Thanks for the reply. I've noticed one thing. If you set the 'About Me' to ONLY FRIENDS, your profile will show your favorites pages and friends list. If you set it to EVERYONE, it will not show anything but your profile photo.
    Looks like Facebook has interchanged the desired outcome intentionally??

Join the discussion!

Trending Stories Right Now