How (And When) To Watch Tonight's Penumbral Lunar Eclipse In Australia

When To Watch Penumbral Lunar Eclipse In Australia

On Wednesday March 23, Australians are being treated to another eclipse, just two week’s after the March 9 total solar eclipse. This time, it’s a penumbral lunar eclipse at nighttime. Here’s how — and when — to watch the event in different regions around Australia.

Moon image from Shutterstock

A penumbral lunar eclipse involves the moon gliding through the outer segment of the shadow cast by the Earth. This causes an unusual darkening of the southern part of the moon’s disk.

Australians in the eastern and central states are best placed to watch the event in its entirety. Western Australians, meanwhile, will get the eclipse before the moon actually rises but will still be able to enjoy a couple of hours of lunar oddness.

Here are the times to watch the March 23 penumbral lunar eclipse in Australia:

Time Zone Eclipse Start Mid Eclipse Eclipse End
AEST 7:37pm 9:47pm 11:57pm
ACST 7:07pm 9:17pm 11:27pm
AWST 5:37pm 7:47pm 9:57pm

Unlike a solar eclipse, you don’t have to worry about special equipment: it’s perfectly safe to observe with the naked eye. To watch the eclipse, simply head outdoors during the mid-eclipse phase and point your noggin eastward. Naturally, visibility will depend on the weather so pray to Artemis for clear skies.

See also: How Can I Photograph The Lunar Eclipse?

Have you subscribed to Lifehacker Australia's email newsletter? You can also follow us on LinkedIn, Facebook, Twitter and YouTube.

Trending Stories Right Now